The Route du Richelieu is the first official cross-border tourist route between Quebec and the state of New York. Come discover the major historical facts that have marked the Richelieu River, as you encounter country landscapes, shorelines and urban settings.
Fort Chambly National Historic Site

Fort Chambly National Historic Site

When the men of the Carignan-Salière Regiment built the very first fort here 350 years ago, bread, pumpkin, peas, chocolate and beer were part of their diet.
Chambly Canal National Historic Site

Chambly Canal National Historic Site

The Chambly Canal, which opened to commercial navigation in 1843, is today used by recreational boaters. It played a leading role in exporting Canadian forest products to the United States.
Canadian National Railway Station - Tourist Information Office

Canadian National Railway Station – Tourist Information Office

Canada’s first railway line was inaugurated on July 21, 1836, between La Prairie and Saint-Jean. The Canadian National railway station is located at the same place as the first railway station from the time was.
Fort Saint-Jean Museum

Fort Saint-Jean Museum

The Fort Saint-Jean Museum presents nearly 350 years of military history on the Royal Military College Saint-Jean site. It is, along with Quebec City, the only place in Canada where a military occupation remains since the French regime. Open to the public in the summer and upon reservation the rest...
Fort Lennox National Historic Site

Fort Lennox National Historic Site

Located on Île aux Noix, in the middle of the Richelieu River, Fort Lennox is one of the most authentic British fortifications in North America. At the fort, you can discover how officers, soldiers and their families stationed there lived during the 1830s. The site, accessible by ferry, will astonish...
Latest entries
Fryer Island

Fryer Island

The trail at the Chambly Canal National Historic Site crosses Fryer Island in Carignan; stop there to stretch your legs on one of the many unmarked trails at the heart of lush vegetation. 1 888 773-8888  |   parcscanada.gc.ca/canalchambly
Historic Monument at Parc McCallum

Historic Monument at Parc McCallum

In 1971, to honour the memory of the first Loyalist colonists from Noyan, the Historic Monuments Commission of Quebec erected a monument in Parc McCallum across from the Anglican church (on the corner of Route 202 and Chemin de la Petite-France). 1274, chemin de la Petite‑France, Noyan (Québec)  J0J 1B0 450 291-4504| ville.noyan.qc.ca 450 542‑9090|...
Henryville's Peaceful Landscapes

Henryville’s Peaceful Landscapes

The route offers peaceful landscapes among protected wetlands and country panoramas. 165, rue de l’Église, Henryville (Québec) J0J 1E0 450 346-4106 | regiondesaint-jean-sur-richelieu.com Enlarge map
Musée Honoré-Mercier

Musée Honoré-Mercier

The birthplace of Honoré Mercier, born on October 15, 1840, who was Quebec’s prime minister from 1887 to 1891. The museum opened its doors in 1962 and the former home of Honoré Mercier was purchased and designated a historic site. 927, route 133, Sainte‑Anne‑de‑Sabrevois (Québec) J0J 2G0 450 347‑0066
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (Iberville sector)

Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (Iberville sector)

Iberville grew and developed around heritage buildings, many of which can still be seen today: the Saint-Athanase church, Manoir Christie and the Trinity church. 1re Rue, Saint‑Jean‑sur‑Richelieu (secteur Iberville)  Québec J2X 3B2 450 542‑9090 | 1 888 781‑9999 | regiondesaint-jean-sur-richelieu.com Enlarge map
Richelieu Rest Area — Tourist Information Office

Richelieu Rest Area — Tourist Information Office

Stop at the rest area to see the remains of a hydroelectric station dating back to the 19th century. This magnificent site has a picnic area alongside the river, right next to the concrete arches where water flowed at the time. Exhibition hall on site. 2365, chemin des Patriotes, Richelieu (Québec) J3L 6M6 450 460‑0202,...
Parc Marcel-Fortier

Parc Marcel-Fortier

    Located on the waterfront, Parc Marcel-Fortier offers a superb view of the Chambly Basin and illustrates part of the city’s past with remains of the Richelieu-Chambly hydroelectric station. This natural site and its picnic area are also known to fishers as the Pierre-Étienne-Fortin wildlife refuge. 1re Rue, Richelieu (Québec) ville.richelieu.qc.ca Enlarge map
Saint‑Mathias Church and Cemetery Wall

Saint‑Mathias Church and Cemetery Wall

Heritage circuit of the village centre departing from the church and churchyard, a unique cultural property that has been protected since 1957. The walk will take you to Parc des Voiles to enjoy the view of the river and Chambly Basin. 280, chemin des Patriotes, Saint‑Mathias‑sur‑Richelieu  (Québec)  J3L 6A3 450 658‑2841, ext. 208 | st‑mathias.org 450...
Maison nationale des Patriotes

Maison nationale des Patriotes

A true heritage jewel, the Maison nationale des Patriotes is one of the few museum institutions entirely dedicated to the dissemination of the history of the Patriots in Lower Canada. Inside the inn of Patriot Jean-Baptiste Mâsse, built in 1809, an exhibition features displays that will take you to the very heart of the Rebellions....
Saint-Denis-sur-Richelieu Village Centre

Saint-Denis-sur-Richelieu Village Centre

One of Quebec’s 35 most beautiful villages, Saint-Denis-sur-Richelieu features bucolic settings. There is a circuit through the village’s streets highlighting 275 years of history during which you can also discover many local attractions. 599, chemin des Patriotes, Saint‑Denis‑sur‑Richelieu (Québec) J0H 1K0 450 787‑2244 |  stdenissurrichelieu.com Enlarge map
Saint‑Ours Village Centre

Saint‑Ours Village Centre

Saint‑Ours is known for its built heritage and dynamic culture. Located right at the heart of the fertile Richelieu Valley, the Saint-Ours municipality came from the seigniory of the same name, conceded to Pierre de Saint-Ours in 1672. Its architecture illustrates 340 years of history. 2540, rue de l’Immaculée‑Conception, Saint‑Ours (Québec) J0G 1P0 450 785‑2203...
Sainte-Victoire-de-Sorel

Sainte-Victoire-de-Sorel

Two parishes competed for the construction of the church; the municipality is named after the winner! Several old farmhouses built along the river testify to the municipality’s agricultural past. Town hall – 517, rang Sud, Sainte-Victoire-de-Sorel (Québec) J0G 1T0 450 782‑3111 |  saintevictoiredesorel.qc.ca

La Route du Richelieu est la première route touristique officielle transfrontalière entre le Québec et l'État de New York. Venez découvrir les hauts faits historiques qui ont marqué la rivière Richelieu à travers des paysages champêtres, riverains et urbains.
Lieu historique national du Fort-Chambly

Lieu historique national du Fort-Chambly

Lorsque les hommes du régiment Carignan-Salière ont construit le tout premier fort il y a 350 ans, le pain, la citrouille, le pois, le chocolat et la bière faisaient partie de leur alimentation.
Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly

Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly

Le canal de Chambly ouvert à la navigation commerciale en 1843, accueille maintenant les bateaux de plaisance. Il a joué un rôle fondamental dans l’exportation des produits forestiers canadiens vers les États‑Unis.
Gare du Canadien National - Bureau d’information touristique

Gare du Canadien National – Bureau d’information touristique

La première ligne de chemin de fer au Canada a été inaugurée le 21 juillet 1836, entre La Prairie et Saint‑Jean. La gare du Canadien National est située sur le même emplacement que la première gare de l’époque.
Musée du Fort Saint-Jean

Musée du Fort Saint-Jean

Le Musée du Fort Saint-Jean présente près de 350 ans d’histoire militaire sur le site du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean, qui constitue, avec la ville de Québec, le site ayant connu la plus longue période d’occupation militaire depuis le Régime français au Canada. Ouvert au public l’été et sur...
Lieu historique national du Fort-Lennox

Lieu historique national du Fort-Lennox

Sur l’Île‑aux‑Noix, au milieu de la rivière Richelieu, le fort Lennox est l’une des plus authentiques fortifications britanniques en Amérique du Nord. Le fort permet de découvrir le mode de vie des officiers, des soldats et de leurs familles en poste dans les années 1830. Le site, accessible par traversier,...
La Route du Richelieu
Île Fryer

Île Fryer

La piste du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly traverse l’île Fryer à Carignan; faites-y un arrêt pour vous délier les jambes sur l’un de ses multiples sentiers non balisés, situés en plein cœur d’une végétation luxuriante. 1 888 773-8888  |   parcscanada.gc.ca/canalchambly
Monument historique du parc McCallum

Monument historique du parc McCallum

En 1971, la Commission des monuments du Québec érige un monument à la mémoire des premiers colons loyalistes de Noyan dans le parc MacCallum situé en face de l’église anglicane (à l’angle de la route 202 et du chemin de la Petite‑France). 1274, chemin de la Petite‑France, Noyan (Québec)  J0J 1B0 450 291-4504 / www.ville.noyan.qc.ca 450...
Les paysages paisibles d'Henryville

Les paysages paisibles d’Henryville

La route propose des paysages paisibles entre des milieux humides protégés et des panoramas champêtres. 165, rue de l’Église, Henryville (Québec) J0J 1E0 450 346-4106 / regiondesaint-jean-sur-richelieu.com Agrandir le plan
Musée Honoré-Mercier

Musée Honoré-Mercier

Maison natale d’Honoré Mercier, né le 15 octobre 1840, qui fut premier ministre de la province de Québec de 1887 à 1891. C’est en 1962 que le musée ouvre ses portes et que l’ancienne demeure d’Honoré Mercier est acquise et devient site historique. 927, route 133, Sainte‑Anne‑de‑Sabrevois (Québec) J0J 2G0 450 347‑0066
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (secteur Iberville)

Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (secteur Iberville)

Iberville bourgeonne et se développe autour de bâtiments ancestraux dont plusieurs peuvent être observés encore de nos jours : l’église Saint‑Athanase, le Manoir Christie et l’église Trinity. 1re Rue, Saint‑Jean‑sur‑Richelieu (secteur Iberville), Québec J2X 3B2 450 542‑9090 / 1 888 781‑9999 / www.regiondesaint-jean-sur-richelieu.com Agrandir le plan
Halte routière de Richelieu — Bureau d'information touristique

Halte routière de Richelieu — Bureau d’information touristique

Un arrêt à la halte routière permet de voir les vestiges d’une centrale hydroélectrique datant du 19e siècle. Ce magnifique site offre une aire de pique‑nique aux abords de la rivière, tout près des arches de béton où circulait l’eau à l’époque. Salle d’exposition sur place. 2365, chemin des Patriotes, Richelieu (Québec) J3L 6M6 450...
Parc Marcel-Fortier

Parc Marcel-Fortier

    Le parc riverain Marcel‑Fortier offre une superbe vue sur le bassin de Chambly et témoigne de l’histoire de la ville à travers les vestiges de la centrale hydroélectrique Richelieu‑Chambly. Ce site naturel agrémenté d’une aire de pique-nique est aussi connu des pêcheurs sous le nom de « refuge faunique Pierre-Étienne-Fortin ». 1re Rue,...
Église et mur du cimetière de Saint‑Mathias

Église et mur du cimetière de Saint‑Mathias

Circuit patrimonial du noyau villageois ayant comme point de départ l’église et son enclos paroissial, bien culturel unique protégé depuis 1957. La promenade mène au parc des Voiles pour profiter de la vue sur la rivière et le Bassin de Chambly. 280, chemin des Patriotes, Saint‑Mathias‑sur‑Richelieu  (Québec)  J3L 6A3 450 658‑2841, poste 208 / st‑mathias.org...